Main, Soup
Comments 3

Pumpkin Bisque

DSC_0052

The weather often determines the recipes I choose to work on and what flavors I want to highlight. I apologize if I drive this point home too often, however I know I am not alone in this. When the air gets crisp, warming comfort foods hit the spot. A little bit of rain and the promise of cooler days brought me to the conclusion I should make soup. We are fully into autumn now! It is October after all, so today I am sharing my favorite pumpkin bisque recipe. I have tweaked and perfected this recipe over the last few years to make it exactly what I want it to be. I wanted a creamy soup that brought out the flavor of pumpkin, but not sweet like pumpkin pie. Coconut milk is complimentary without overpowering the other flavors. Plus it is such a great consistency adding richness and creaminess to the soup. The warm spices keep the soup grounded with the kick of crushed red pepper for excitement. Feel free to add more if you like spicier foods.

Vegan Pumpkin Bisque

1 small onion, chopped
1 tablespoon garlic, minced
2 tablespoons coconut oil
2 cups vegetable stock
1 large can pumpkin puree (approximately 3 1/2 cups)
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
salt and pepper to taste
1 can coconut milk (approximately 1 2/3 cups)
juice of half a lemon (approximately 2 tablespoons)

In a medium pot, warm coconut oil over medium heat. Add onion. Sauté for several minutes, until onion softens and starts to brown. Add garlic and sauté a couple more minutes. Add vegetable stock, pumpkin puree, and spices. Simmer on medium low heat for 30 minutes. This allows the flavors to meld together.
Working in batches transfer soup to blender or food processor and puree. Return to pot. Add coconut milk and lemon juice. Bring to a simmer to warm. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

3 Comments

  1. Pingback: Top Five Post from 2015 | Crumbs Above Gold

Leave a comment