Uncategorized
Leave a Comment

Herbed Vegetarian Stuffing

DSC_0451
Presenting a holiday staple: straightforward, classic stuffing with lots of flavor and vegetarian friendly ingredients.
Growing up, my mom always made stuffing by pureeing the onions and turkey giblets. It was her attempt at hiding all the “less than desirable” ingredients that add flavor to stuffing. While I always will appreciate my mom’s stuffing, I decided I wanted to eliminate the giblets. Since I’m not opposed to the onion and appreciate the texture it adds, I don’t puree those up either. This recipe has lots of herbs, browned butter, and apple cider vinegar to boost the flavor.
I use my mom’s technique of drying slices of bread in various safe places around the house. For me this was the kitchen counter, but then the washer and dryer when guest came over. It wasn’t hidden quite enough because a friend quietly asked me why I had toast in the laundry room. Ok it’s not a perfect technique, but I like to dry my own bread because then I am not limited to the pre-dried white bread cubes available at the store. I like to use a heavily seeded whole wheat bread. It adds more flavor and texture. Use cooling racks to dry your bread or flip to make sure it gets dry through out. I like to dry mine overnight.

Herbed Vegetarian Stuffing

2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme
2 tablespoons chopped fresh sage
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
1 1/2 cups celery, 1/4” slices
16 ounces dried (about one loaf) bread chopped into cubes
1 stick butter
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 3/4 cup vegetable stock (chicken stock if you don’t mind that option)
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.
In a large skillet on medium heat melt and brown 1/2 cup butter. Once butter reaches a medium brown color add chopped onion and celery. Sauté vegetables on medium high heat until slightly soften.
In large bowl toss chopped herbs and dried bread cubes. Add hot butter and vegetable mixture.
Place pan back on heat and add 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. Swirl around and scrape bits of food that cooked onto pan. This process is known as deglazing. Cook until almost all liquid is evaporated. Add chicken stock to pan. Stir around then pour onto bread crumb mixture. Toss quickly to coat all the mixture. Add salt and pepper to taste. Pour into 2 quart casserole dish. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

