Sides
Leave a Comment

Apple Butter

DSC_0423

This, like my last post, is another holiday recipe from an aunt. My mom’s sister cans a big batch of apple butter each fall. I look forward to having it on my moms homemade rolls on Thanksgiving and Christmas. My aunt, knowing how much I love it, also always gives me a jar or two for Christmas.
My aunt’s recipe is in ratios. Two parts applesauce to one part sugar to one-third part apple cider vinegar and cinnamon to taste. She puts a big batch in a crockpot overnight or for at least 10 hours. It cooks down into a thick, dark sauce with a concentrated flavor and acidic bite from the vinegar. It is equally sweet and tangy.
I loosely used my aunts recipe here, but chose to make an accelerated stove-top version rather than cooking it down overnight. I also tried using a bit less sugar. I have noticed several recipes of the generation before using a lot of sugar and I am always trying to cut it down.

DSC_0413

Apple Butter

5 1/2 cups (47 ounce container) unsweetened applesauce
2 cups brown sugar
2/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

In a medium saucepan combine all ingredients. Simmer over medium-low heat for about 2 hours or until reduced by at least half. Covering the pan helps reduce splattering. Stir occasionally. Serve immediately or keep in refrigerator.

Makes about 2 cups

This entry was posted in: Sides

Leave a Reply

